Skip to main content

Computational Neuroscience (CNS*2007)

The international Computational Neuroscience meeting (CNS) has been a premier forum for presenting experimental and theoretical results exploring the biology of computation in the nervous system for the last 16 years. The meeting is organized by the Organization for Computational Neurosciences, a non-profit organization governed by an international executive committee and board of directors. A separate program committee is responsible for the scientific program of the meeting. Participants at the meeting are from academia and industry. The meeting not only provides a venue for research presentation and discussion by senior scientists but actively offers a forum for promoting and supporting young scientists and students from around the world.

The papers in this supplemental volume were presented at the 16th Annual Computational Neuroscience Meeting (CNS*2007) held in Toronto, Ontario, Canada from Saturday July 7 to Thursday July 12, 2007. The meeting consisted of a welcome reception, three days of oral and poster sessions, an evening harbor cruise and dinner, and two days of workshops. The main meeting was held at 89 Chestnut, a University of Toronto conference facility and the workshops took place at the University of Toronto downtown campus.

Abstracts for the meeting were submitted in early February. Those authors wanting an oral presentation also submitted an extended summary of their work. The abstracts were reviewed by the Program Committee and each extended summary was additionally reviewed and scored by two independent reviewers. In the end 230 papers were accepted for the meeting. The review comments and scores for the extended summaries were used by the Program Committee to construct the final oral and poster programs.

Abstracts for oral presentations are given first, in order of presentation at the meeting. Abstracts for poster presentations are grouped by topic according to keywords chosen by the authors in their initial submissions. Clearly some papers could fit under multiple topics, so this classification is by no means precise. Nevertheless, these abstracts represent a sampling of some of the exciting work being done today, often by young researchers, in the field of Computational Neuroscience.

CNS*2007 Program Committee

Bill Holmes, Chair (Ohio University), Steve Bressler (Florida Atlantic University), Frances Chance (University of California, Irvine), Sharon Crook (Arizona State University), Markus Diesmann (RIKEN), Alex Dimitrov (Montana State University), Sonja Gruen (Free University, Berlin), Tay Netoff (University of Minnesota), Hiroshi Okamoto (RIKEN), Mike Paulin (University of Otago), Astrid Prinz (Emory University), Michelle Rudolph (CRNS)

CNS*2007 Reviewers

Kurt Ahrens, Athena Akrami, Jose Ambros-Ingerson, Peter Andras, Toru Aonishi, Ildiko Aradi, Francesco Battaglia, Maxim Bazhenov, James Bednar, Jan Benda, Upinder Bhalla, Ingo Bojak, Victoria Booth, Amitabha Bose, Steve Bressler, Romain Brette, Robert Butera, Ronald Calabrese, Carmen Canavier, Jeremy Caplan, Hide Cateau, Michela Chippalone, Thomas Cleland, Albert Compte, Felix Creutzig, Patrick Crotty, Gennady Cymbalyuk, Peter Dayan, Gustavo Deco, Paolo DelGiudice, Michael Denker, Alain Destexhe, Alexander Dimitrov, Mingzhou Ding, Ramana Dodla, Brent Doiron, Chris Eliasmith, Udo Ernst, Gabbiani Fabrizio, Adrienne Fairhall, Jean-Marc Fellous, Roberto Fernández Galán, Nicolas Fourcaud-Trocme, Erik Fransen, Marc-Oliver Gewaltig, Stan Gielen, Bruce Graham, Lyle Graham, Cengiz Gunay, Christian Hauptmann, J. Michael Herrmann, Yutaka Hirata, Kazuhisa Ichikawa, Hide Ikeno, Dieter Jaeger, Don Johnson, Ranu Jung, Szabolcs Kali, Amir Karniel, Gabriel Kreiman, Linda Larson-Prior, Aurel A Lazar, Maciej Lazarewicz, Tim Lewis, Hualou Liang, Benjamin Lindner, Marja-Leena Linne, Andre Longtin, Niklas Ludtke, William Lytton, Paul Miller, Samat Moldakarimov, Abigail Morrison, Tay Netoff, Ernst Niebur, Haruka Nishimura, Klaus Obermayer, Eckehard Olbrich, Sorinel Oprisan, Stefano Panzeri, Gordon Pipa, Panayiota Poirazi, Bernd Porr, Jennifer Read, Patrick Roberts, Horacio Rotstein, Yasser Roudi, Alex Roxin, Michelle Rudolph, Ko Sakai, Yukata Sakai, Emilio Salinas, Steven Schiff, Shihab Shamma, Harel Shouval, Asya Shpiro, Karen Sigvardt, Leslie Smith, Martin Stemmler, David Sterratt, Benjamin Torben-Nielsen, Horatiu Voicu, Christina Weaver.

CNS*2007 Local Organizer and Workshop Chair

Frances Skinner (Toronto Western Research Institute and University of Toronto)

Government Liaisons

Dennis Glanzman (NIMH), Yuan Liu (NINDS), Kenneth Whang (NSF)

Supporting Agencies

National Institute of Mental Health

CNS – Organization for Computational Neuroscience

Ranu Jung (Arizona State University), President

Dieter Jaeger (Emory University), Vice-President

Alain Destexhe (CNRS), Vice-President

Linda Larson-Prior (Washington University), Treasurer

Phillip Ulinski (University of Chicago) Grants Chair

Tim Lewis (University of California-Davis), Travel Grants

Christiane Linster (Cornell University) Past-President and Communications Chair

Jean Marc-Fellous (University of Arizona), Sponsorship Chair

CNS Board of Directors

James Bednar (University of Edinburgh), Ingo Bojak (Swinburne University), Erik DeSchutter (University of Antwerp), Udo Ernst (University of Bremen), Jean-Marc Fellous (University of Arizona), Mark Goldman (Wellesley College), Leslie Kay (University of Chicago), Tim Lewis (UC Davis), David Redish (University of Minnesota), Patrick Roberts (Oregon Health and Science University), Steven Schiff (Penn State University), Todd Troyer (University of Maryland), Susan Wearne (Mt. Sinai School of Medicine), Christina Weaver (Mt. Sinai School of Medicine)

For more information about the organization, please see

Author information

Authors and Affiliations


Corresponding authors

Correspondence to William R Holmes, Ranu Jung or Frances Skinner.

Rights and permissions

Open Access This article is published under license to BioMed Central Ltd. This is an Open Access article is distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution 2.0 International License (, which permits unrestricted use, distribution, and reproduction in any medium, provided the original work is properly cited.

Reprints and permissions

About this article

Cite this article

Holmes, W.R., Jung, R. & Skinner, F. Computational Neuroscience (CNS*2007). BMC Neurosci 8 (Suppl 2), I1 (2007).

Download citation

  • Published:

  • DOI: